Wherein we discuss tabletop RPGs, board games, anime, books, music, technology, and stupid Internet fads.

Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby manta173 » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 8:49am

Searched the forums for a topic like this and didn't find one to revive so sorry for creating a new thread if an old one is still around.

So Skyrim is coming out soon and I have a PC that is aging fast April 2008 (I know it will run, but I'm not sure it will run well). I have Vista on it and it runs things fine even with dual screen monitors. But I'm not sure I want to upgrade it since it is a 32 bit system. I think I need to start over with the motherboard and processor... but I've never done that without getting a whole new system. This time around (due to monetary concerns) I would prefer to be able to do it piece by piece.

Here is my set-up... it's actually the first computer I built(got it from newegg mostly).

MB: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor Intel MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz LGA 775 Quad Core
Ram: OCZ Reaper 4 GB (2*2 GB) 240 pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit
Video Card: EVGA GeForce 9600GT Superclocked 512 MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI-E 2.0*16
HD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB 7200 RPM Sata 3.0 Gb/s
Case and power supply: Apevia Mid -Tower case with OCZ 600W

Reqs. for Skyrim:
http://www.systemrequirements.in/system-requirements-for-the-elder-scrolls-v-skyrim.html

Minimum System Requirements

* OS: Windows XP, Vista or Windows 7
* CPU: Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz or Althon X2 2.0 GHz
* RAM: 3 GB
* HDD: 15 GB
* Graphics: 512 MB card
* Sound Card: DirectX 9 Compatible
* DirectX: Version 9.0c

Recommended System Requirements

* OS: Windows XP, Vista or Windows 7
* CPU: Core 2 Quad 3 GHz
* RAM: 3 GB
* HDD: 15 GB free disk space
* Graphics: 512 MB Graphics Memory
* Sound Card: DirectX 9 Compatible
* DirectX: Version 9.0c

Supported Graphics Cards:

Minimum – 8800 GT
Recommanded – Geforce GTX 460/Radeon 5850

Note: These are the predicted system requirements. Official will be updated soon.
manta173
User avatar
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Jul 19th, 2011 @ 9:54am
Location: Decatur, AL

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby kevinep3 » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 11:55am

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1785&hilit=pc+build

but yeah if you were actually going to upgrade stuff you can prob throw in a 2gb stick of ram, maybe for video card if you want like max settings for everything a gtx 470 is pretty good, and your processor is fine but for that you could prob get a pretty good i5 quad for less or around 200$
psn:kevinep331, xbl:kevinep3, steam:kevinep3
kevinep3
User avatar
 
Posts: 1758
Joined: Mar 10th, 2009 @ 6:19am
Location: Northwest Ct

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby Mr_eX » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 11:59am

Your PC seems pretty good. You might just want to add more ram and a new video card. I don't think you need a new processor yet but I might be wrong. I'm sure there are people here that know more about this stuff than me.
Mr_eX
User avatar
Geekbox VIP
 
Posts: 15654
Joined: Apr 8th, 2009 @ 3:01pm

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby manta173 » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 2:37pm

I would add more ram in a heartbeat, but the issue is that I had heard 32 bit windows only handles 4 gigs of ram. Any more ram is just wasted. Maybe Vista has had improvements since '08 when I read that, but this is the main reason for me holding back on upgrades.

I have always preferred nvidia, what card do you think has a good price to performance ratio these days? Obviously I don't need a massive card since the rest of the computer *cough* processor *cough* is not up to snuff.
manta173
User avatar
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Jul 19th, 2011 @ 9:54am
Location: Decatur, AL

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby kenzo » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 2:52pm

manta173 wrote:I would add more ram in a heartbeat, but the issue is that I had heard 32 bit windows only handles 4 gigs of ram. Any more ram is just wasted. Maybe Vista has had improvements since '08 when I read that, but this is the main reason for me holding back on upgrades.
You should think about moving on from Vista or XP into Windows 7. That alone will improve your computer's performance by a not insignificant amount.
kenzo
User avatar
 
Posts: 26706
Joined: Apr 21st, 2009 @ 6:01pm

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby manta173 » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 3:08pm

kenzo wrote:
manta173 wrote:I would add more ram in a heartbeat, but the issue is that I had heard 32 bit windows only handles 4 gigs of ram. Any more ram is just wasted. Maybe Vista has had improvements since '08 when I read that, but this is the main reason for me holding back on upgrades.
You should think about moving on from Vista or XP into Windows 7. That alone will improve your computer's performance by a not insignificant amount.


Well is doing that more cost effective than a better video card? Assuming I buy one piece of this thing a month. Also, I don't hate Vista like so many people do, is 7 that much better that I will get a performance boost even though I'm on a 32 bit system? I thought 7 was only 64 bit.
manta173
User avatar
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Jul 19th, 2011 @ 9:54am
Location: Decatur, AL

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby KindGalaxy » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 4:16pm

My Windows 7 is 32bit, when you buy the box it comes with 2 discs, one is 32bit and one is 64bit. Anyway, yeah as others have said I'd look directly at a Video Card upgrade and a new PSU since 600 Watt might not be enough give for a new graphics card. The CPU and RAM are fine, even for Skyrim.

Your GPU is your major bottleneck. Like you I prefer Nvidia, but the new Radeons coming out are pretty fucking fantastic, my roommate has the Radeon 6850 and its a really impressive cheaper card.
Never start a beef with a butcher
KindGalaxy
User avatar
 
Posts: 3753
Joined: Mar 7th, 2009 @ 11:01pm
Location: Australia

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby kenzo » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 5:26pm

manta173 wrote:Well is doing that more cost effective than a better video card?
Probably not in terms of getting the most frames per second, but 7 is definitely worth the money to upgrade (never mind that you can usually get student discounts on an upgrade copy, or just do the indecent thing and steal it - that's right, I'm advocating stealing Windows. Fuck Microsoft. My parents have a laptop with a legitimate copy of Vista on it, and when I tried to update it, I got an error saying "this is not a legit licenced copy." FFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU and your awful software!!!)
kenzo
User avatar
 
Posts: 26706
Joined: Apr 21st, 2009 @ 6:01pm

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby kevinep3 » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 5:29pm

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814121397 this is a pretty good card for the price
psn:kevinep331, xbl:kevinep3, steam:kevinep3
kevinep3
User avatar
 
Posts: 1758
Joined: Mar 10th, 2009 @ 6:19am
Location: Northwest Ct

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby Mr_eX » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 5:31pm

Don't you just need a multicore processor to use the 64 bit Windows 7?
Mr_eX
User avatar
Geekbox VIP
 
Posts: 15654
Joined: Apr 8th, 2009 @ 3:01pm

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby no51 » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 9:12pm

Mr_eX wrote:Don't you just need a multicore processor to use the 64 bit Windows 7?

No, just a 64-bit capable processor. But then again, single cores are so 2004.
no51
User avatar
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sep 30th, 2010 @ 9:40pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby Mr_eX » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 9:18pm

no51 wrote:
Mr_eX wrote:Don't you just need a multicore processor to use the 64 bit Windows 7?

No, just a 64-bit capable processor. But then again, single cores are so 2004.


And doesn't he have a 64-bit processor?
Mr_eX
User avatar
Geekbox VIP
 
Posts: 15654
Joined: Apr 8th, 2009 @ 3:01pm

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby manta173 » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 9:47pm

Mr_eX wrote:
no51 wrote:
Mr_eX wrote:Don't you just need a multicore processor to use the 64 bit Windows 7?

No, just a 64-bit capable processor. But then again, single cores are so 2004.


And doesn't he have a 64-bit processor?


Nope. 32 bit all the way.
manta173
User avatar
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Jul 19th, 2011 @ 9:54am
Location: Decatur, AL

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby Mr_eX » Jul 28th, 2011 @ 9:51pm

manta173 wrote:
Mr_eX wrote:
no51 wrote:
Mr_eX wrote:Don't you just need a multicore processor to use the 64 bit Windows 7?

No, just a 64-bit capable processor. But then again, single cores are so 2004.


And doesn't he have a 64-bit processor?


Nope. 32 bit all the way.


http://www.intel.com/products/processor/core2quad/specifications.htm

Sure looks like its 64 to me.
Mr_eX
User avatar
Geekbox VIP
 
Posts: 15654
Joined: Apr 8th, 2009 @ 3:01pm

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby manta173 » Jul 29th, 2011 @ 11:40am

Mr_eX wrote:
manta173 wrote:
Mr_eX wrote:
no51 wrote:
Mr_eX wrote:Don't you just need a multicore processor to use the 64 bit Windows 7?

No, just a 64-bit capable processor. But then again, single cores are so 2004.


And doesn't he have a 64-bit processor?


Nope. 32 bit all the way.


http://www.intel.com/products/processor/core2quad/specifications.htm

Sure looks like its 64 to me.


Pretty sure it was 32 when I bought it. Is there a control panel screen somewhere I can screenshot for you that will show this? Also... how the hell do I post a picture on the forums that isn't an html link? (I know prolly a noob question, but I haven't ever spent much time on forums before I joined this one.)
manta173
User avatar
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Jul 19th, 2011 @ 9:54am
Location: Decatur, AL

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby MrBiggs » Jul 30th, 2011 @ 7:00am

manta173 wrote:Pretty sure it was 32 when I bought it. Is there a control panel screen somewhere I can screenshot for you that will show this?


Yeah, click on the apple in the menu bar and go to About My Mac...wait...damnit! My tech support knowledge is being split between two platforms and is suffering as a result. Uhh, maybe Device Manager?
MrBiggs
User avatar
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Mar 19th, 2009 @ 4:44pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby manta173 » Jul 30th, 2011 @ 7:14am

MrBiggs wrote:
manta173 wrote:Pretty sure it was 32 when I bought it. Is there a control panel screen somewhere I can screenshot for you that will show this?


Yeah, click on the apple in the menu bar and go to About My Mac...wait...damnit! My tech support knowledge is being split between two platforms and is suffering as a result. Uhh, maybe Device Manager?


Har har... I'd die before I bought a Mac for gaming.

I know for a fact I have 32 bit Vista and I'm 95% sure that my MB and processor were 32 bit because I got the computer when they were still having issues with games coming out that didn't work well on 64 bit.
manta173
User avatar
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Jul 19th, 2011 @ 9:54am
Location: Decatur, AL

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby MrBiggs » Jul 31st, 2011 @ 7:13am

manta173 wrote:
MrBiggs wrote:
manta173 wrote:Pretty sure it was 32 when I bought it. Is there a control panel screen somewhere I can screenshot for you that will show this?


Yeah, click on the apple in the menu bar and go to About My Mac...wait...damnit! My tech support knowledge is being split between two platforms and is suffering as a result. Uhh, maybe Device Manager?


Har har... I'd die before I bought a Mac for gaming.


I know what you mean, I didn't buy my Mac for gaming. Anyway, your processor is indeed 64 bit (I just looked it up). Motherboard doesn't factor into it except that you are limited to 8 GB DDR2 1066 RAM. Obviously 32 bit Vista is not running in 64 bit and will not be able to address more than 3.something GB of RAM. If you're going to upgrade your OS, go 64 bit Win 7. If you're worried it won't work, ask to borrow a friend's copy, find a store with a good return policy, or, hell, try running a 64 bit linux distro just to ease your mind. If you're going to add more RAM, you will need to go 64 bit, though.
MrBiggs
User avatar
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Mar 19th, 2009 @ 4:44pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby Mr_eX » Jul 31st, 2011 @ 9:24pm

If you don't believe Intel's website you can always call their customer support and ask if its 64 bit.
Mr_eX
User avatar
Geekbox VIP
 
Posts: 15654
Joined: Apr 8th, 2009 @ 3:01pm

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby manta173 » Aug 1st, 2011 @ 7:59am

Mr_eX wrote:If you don't believe Intel's website you can always call their customer support and ask if its 64 bit.


http://ark.intel.com/products/29765/Int ... 66-MHz-FSB)

Scroll down, it says the L775 is discontinued, but it doesn't say what they were 64 vs 32. I don't see where you guys see that my model is a 64 bit.

I guess I can call, but I hate talking to people on the phone. lol

If I could install a linux system for dual boot in under 2 hours I'd go for it. But last time I tired to do that (years ago) it was a very time consuming and pain in the ass process.
manta173
User avatar
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Jul 19th, 2011 @ 9:54am
Location: Decatur, AL

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby no51 » Aug 1st, 2011 @ 4:45pm

I have that exact same processor and I'm running Vista x64.
no51
User avatar
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sep 30th, 2010 @ 9:40pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby Mr_eX » Aug 1st, 2011 @ 9:51pm

no51 wrote:I have that exact same processor and I'm running Vista x64.


Well there you go Manta. Just get Windows 7 64 bit, some more ram and a new video card and you should be ready to go. Unless you really want to build an all new PC in which case go for it.
Mr_eX
User avatar
Geekbox VIP
 
Posts: 15654
Joined: Apr 8th, 2009 @ 3:01pm

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby manta173 » Aug 2nd, 2011 @ 8:36am

Mr_eX wrote:
no51 wrote:I have that exact same processor and I'm running Vista x64.


Well there you go Manta. Just get Windows 7 64 bit, some more ram and a new video card and you should be ready to go. Unless you really want to build an all new PC in which case go for it.


I give in... lol

So... what first? Windows 7 or video card? (Ram will have to be after Win 7)
manta173
User avatar
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Jul 19th, 2011 @ 9:54am
Location: Decatur, AL

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby Mr_eX » Aug 2nd, 2011 @ 3:26pm

I'd probably get Windows 7 first.

What video card do you think you'll get?
Mr_eX
User avatar
Geekbox VIP
 
Posts: 15654
Joined: Apr 8th, 2009 @ 3:01pm

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby kenzo » Aug 2nd, 2011 @ 3:49pm

If you're going legit and buying 7, make sure you take advantage of any deals or discounts. I know MS used to offer discounts for students for things like this.
kenzo
User avatar
 
Posts: 26706
Joined: Apr 21st, 2009 @ 6:01pm

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby manta173 » Aug 2nd, 2011 @ 5:29pm

kenzo wrote:If you're going legit and buying 7, make sure you take advantage of any deals or discounts. I know MS used to offer discounts for students for things like this.


I'm almost completely legit these days. Unless something is unavailable. But I haven't been a student for years. The only website I know of with good regular discounts are TigerDirect and Newegg. Any other suggestions?

Video card will be probably after September, so I'll compare price to performance ratios then. What are we up to now... direct X 11 I think. Whatever the newest direct X is my minimum requirement to help future proof..... Come to think of it... I'm not sure how good of an idea that is these days... lol
manta173
User avatar
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Jul 19th, 2011 @ 9:54am
Location: Decatur, AL

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby Mr_eX » Aug 2nd, 2011 @ 5:36pm

I have a Radeon 5770 and I'm thinking about getting a GTX 560
Mr_eX
User avatar
Geekbox VIP
 
Posts: 15654
Joined: Apr 8th, 2009 @ 3:01pm

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby manta173 » Aug 2nd, 2011 @ 6:14pm

Mr_eX wrote:I have a Radeon 5770 and I'm thinking about getting a GTX 560


I've been looking at the GTX 560... I believe its the top of the list right now for me. I hope the price hits the 150 mark before I buy though. (I know, I'm cheap)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814125383
This is wat I was looking at on newegg.
manta173
User avatar
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Jul 19th, 2011 @ 9:54am
Location: Decatur, AL

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby Mr_eX » Aug 3rd, 2011 @ 6:53am

I'm looking at the 560 ti over the 560 standard. It's suppose to be better.

I'm waiting to see this for $200.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130628

I may end up getting a 570 though.
Mr_eX
User avatar
Geekbox VIP
 
Posts: 15654
Joined: Apr 8th, 2009 @ 3:01pm

Re: Build/ Upgrade a PC

Postby kenzo » Aug 3rd, 2011 @ 2:12pm

manta173 wrote:I'm almost completely legit these days. Unless something is unavailable. But I haven't been a student for years. The only website I know of with good regular discounts are TigerDirect and Newegg. Any other suggestions?
Neither have I, but that doesn't stop me. A lot of these websites only require a .edu email address to verify you're a student. If you still have access to your school's old email address like I do, abuse that shit.
kenzo
User avatar
 
Posts: 26706
Joined: Apr 21st, 2009 @ 6:01pm

Next
Forum Statistics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Options

Return to Other Geekery

cron