Wherein we discuss tabletop RPGs, board games, anime, books, music, technology, and stupid Internet fads.

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby Sokkratez » Apr 18th, 2009 @ 6:25pm

You can get a GParted Live CD and boot off that to delete the partition. What do you plan on doing after it's formatted?
Sokkratez
User avatar
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Mar 7th, 2009 @ 9:22pm

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby Sokkratez » Apr 18th, 2009 @ 6:43pm

Well, formatting will get rid of everything, including the OS. So you just want to clean your stuff out since you don't have an OS disc to do a reinstall. Check for spyware and viruses with SpyBot and ClamWin. Also defrag your system. I use a program called Defraggler for this, but the Windows tool works fine. Right click the hard drive in My Computer, properties, tools, defragment.
Sokkratez
User avatar
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Mar 7th, 2009 @ 9:22pm

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby Sokkratez » Apr 18th, 2009 @ 7:06pm

Right, that'll just clean out things that would be hurting your system.
Sokkratez
User avatar
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Mar 7th, 2009 @ 9:22pm

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby mtcantor » Apr 18th, 2009 @ 7:23pm

I would suggest a good registry cleaner and system optimizer too, unless your comp is really boned. I use Advanced SystemCare Professional, and it works wonders on my Vista system. That combined with Avast Antivirus and a good housecleaning now and then has kept my computer relatively problem free for all of recent memory.
Currently Playing: Heavy Rain, Dragon Age: Origins, The Misadventures of Tron Bonne, Saints Row 2
Recently finished: Bioshock 2, Mass Effect 2,No More Heroes 2, Bayonetta, Darksiders
mtcantor
User avatar
 
Posts: 765
Joined: Mar 16th, 2009 @ 11:34pm

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby nkarasch » Apr 19th, 2009 @ 9:14pm

I would wipe it clean and install windows on its own drive so you will be able to format every few months without losing everything else. Trying to clean everything out of windows is kinda pointless, it is built to slow down over time. The only good way to do it is regular reinstalls.
Steam Name - BacksideNoseblunt
XBL - BcksideNoseblnt
friend me, I have no friends
nkarasch
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Mar 8th, 2009 @ 10:37am
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby deerpoob » Apr 19th, 2009 @ 9:40pm

no disc of any kind? thats really odd, your either a pirate (:P just joking) or the retailer messed up, if you dont really like vista, you could always try linux, just burn it to a dvd.
Currently Playing: Torchlight, Borderlands, Planescape:torment

Procrastinating: Dragon Age, Disgaea DS, SMT Devil Survivor, Assasins Creed 2

Wants to play: Mass Effect 2, Bioshock 2, Heavy Rain, Alan Wake, Ico, Persona 4
deerpoob
User avatar
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mar 22nd, 2009 @ 2:09pm
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada.

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby nkarasch » Apr 19th, 2009 @ 9:47pm

You could use the Windows 7 beta to get you by until it releases later in the year
Steam Name - BacksideNoseblunt
XBL - BcksideNoseblnt
friend me, I have no friends
nkarasch
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Mar 8th, 2009 @ 10:37am
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby HurricaneDean » Apr 21st, 2009 @ 7:47pm

nkarasch wrote:You could use the Windows 7 beta to get you by until it releases later in the year

That's a terrible idea, don't do that. The beta is pretty buggy, and would piss you off a lot. But then again, you did say it was a Vista comp... OK so it's not a terrible idea, but I wouldn't really recommend it.
Thanks to The Geekbox, I have cured my addiction to gaming. I now have an addiction to comics. And Lost. =/
HurricaneDean
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mar 19th, 2009 @ 7:58pm

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby Sokkratez » Apr 21st, 2009 @ 7:51pm

With proper maintainance you shouldn't need to format except for things like major hardware changes. Prevention is key, and I don't mean monitoring tools. Education and safe browsing are the best tools. Don't go to weird sites or download random freeware. Don't Google for task-specific tools and download it from random places that aren't reputable or recommended to you by somebody. Don't download porn that comes in an exe or requires a "special codec". Most viruses and malware come from doing things we shouldn't be doing.
Sokkratez
User avatar
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Mar 7th, 2009 @ 9:22pm

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby nkarasch » Apr 21st, 2009 @ 8:23pm

Sokkratez wrote:With proper maintainance you shouldn't need to format except for things like major hardware changes. Prevention is key, and I don't mean monitoring tools. Education and safe browsing are the best tools. Don't go to weird sites or download random freeware. Don't Google for task-specific tools and download it from random places that aren't reputable or recommended to you by somebody. Don't download porn that comes in an exe or requires a "special codec". Most viruses and malware come from doing things we shouldn't be doing.


It is easy to avoid malware. The problem is that Windows just puts stuff wherever it feels like putting it. It doesn't have an OS Defragger and it WILL slow down over time.

Windows 7 Beta is a great idea. I have been using it and it has been flawless. Vista has also been flawless, people just couldn't figure out the little things you need to change to get it to function just like XP. Toning down the UAC is the biggest part.
Steam Name - BacksideNoseblunt
XBL - BcksideNoseblnt
friend me, I have no friends
nkarasch
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Mar 8th, 2009 @ 10:37am
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby Sokkratez » Apr 21st, 2009 @ 8:56pm

nkarasch wrote:It doesn't have an OS Defragger


Yes it does. Right click your drive, properties, tools. Same place the defrag tool has always been.

Windows 7 beta is not a great idea considering it expires in August and RC1 comes out on May 5th. Also consider that Punkbuster is not compatible until Windows 7 RTM. This makes playing many games online impossible under the beta (CoD Anything, Quake Anything, Wolf ET, Battlefield Anything). The PB issue will be fixed once Windows 7 is retail, but until then, Even Balance has said they won't update.
Sokkratez
User avatar
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Mar 7th, 2009 @ 9:22pm

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby nkarasch » Apr 21st, 2009 @ 9:20pm

Hmm, I know it has a disk defrag but I guess I used the wrong word when I said OS defragger. Anyway, I don't know a fancy term for it but when you install programs they leave registry entries and DLL files all over the place. I don't care if you use a registry cleaner or not the registry still isn't as optimal as it could be.

I guess its just me, but I have a pretty fast computer and I still feel the need to reinstall windows every few months just because I can't stand all the stuff left scattered around in there. It still runs fast but the thought of that drives me nuts.
Steam Name - BacksideNoseblunt
XBL - BcksideNoseblnt
friend me, I have no friends
nkarasch
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Mar 8th, 2009 @ 10:37am
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby Sokkratez » Apr 21st, 2009 @ 9:21pm

Windows can't really be held responsible for how third party software behaves. Use CCleaner, it takes care of everything.
Sokkratez
User avatar
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Mar 7th, 2009 @ 9:22pm

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby Peatron » Apr 21st, 2009 @ 9:26pm

If you don't have a disc did you buy a premade one from dell, hp, gateway, or another company? If you did, there is probrably a way to get a reinstall that will reset it to factory settings. This would be pretty quick and easy, although make sure you have backups of all the stuff you want because they will all get deleted. Another option would be to keep vista, and then install the windows 7 beta on another partion, and primarily use that , but for games and other things that won't work with 7 use vista. That is also a viable option with linux.
Peatron
User avatar
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Apr 7th, 2009 @ 12:58am
Location: Mountain View Ca

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby Info » Apr 27th, 2009 @ 11:16am

Can't you make a system restore disk? Or will that only go back to the buggy state it is in right now? I've never actually used one.
Info
User avatar
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Apr 13th, 2009 @ 12:12am

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby anvesta » Dec 23rd, 2009 @ 5:13pm

alt+F4
anvesta
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mar 17th, 2009 @ 7:29pm

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby Jaconius » Dec 23rd, 2009 @ 6:01pm

anvesta wrote:alt+F4

Creative.

I'd recommend cleaning out your registry, defragging etc. Full wipes are usually a pain in the ass and rife with problems. Avoid if at all possible.
Jaconius
User avatar
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Mar 7th, 2009 @ 9:25pm
Location: Paradise

Re: Okay, need to format my vista comp...

Postby drbinofski » Dec 24th, 2009 @ 1:49am

Download an iso, make a bootable USB drive, format the hard drive and install linux (pick your flavour). Enjoy the passion of real computing :)
Hand me those d10's and we'll soon sort these bothersome individuals out...
http://fusionrpg.wordpress.com/
drbinofski
User avatar
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Oct 24th, 2009 @ 1:48am
Location: Brighton, UK.

Cialis Mezza Pasticca Ellacromb

Postby EllNelo » Jun 12th, 2018 @ 12:40am

Generic Viagra For Sale In Usa Viagra Pfizer Angebot cialis for sale Sage And Propecia Cialis Potenzmittel Rezeptfrei Im Internet Bestellen Baclofene Cochin
Can Amoxicillin Be Used For Acne Prompt Pill Store Cialis Bei Frau cheapest cialis Propecia Cost Compare Prix Cialis 25
EllNelo
 
Posts: 653
Joined: May 30th, 2018 @ 11:26am
Location: Morocco

Okay need to format my vista comp

Postby MelaniaDot » Jul 21st, 2018 @ 7:54pm

Has anyone come up with a standard puzzle definition format for jigsaw sudoku similar to the 81-character line format for standard sudoku?
MelaniaDot
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Jul 17th, 2018 @ 5:23pm
Location: Australia

Forum Statistics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests

Options

Return to Other Geekery

cron